Dream

She had a dream,
A dream to have an identity of her own.

She said- I don’t want to be just someone’s daughter, someone’s sister, someone’s wife. I want to be me, along with someone’s something. 

This was her answer to her teacher, as he asked about her dreams. While other children said they dream about living in a chocolate house, a house of ice creams with all flavours of the world, and some said they want to become like Michael Jackson, like A P J Abdul kalam, like Modi, she said – I want to be me!

Mr.Frank, the teacher, was amazed to hear this from a 5 year young girl. To explore more about the budding mind, he interrogated with eagerness-

Identity! That’s a heavy word. Don’t you think so?

Yes, of course, it is.

So, what do you understand by having an identity.

It is to stand out in a crowd.

Could you explain it? How does that matter?

I mean, I don’t want to be like a lion in a zoo but live like a lion that roars in the jungle.

And how are you going to do this?

Do what? Sir.

Smiling at her innocense, he continued – I mean, how are you going to create an identity of your own?

Oh! That. I….I….( Thinking a while, staring at a roof, she said) I ‘ll help people to make their dreams come true, I ‘ll spread happiness and plant kindness in every heart that beats lub-dub, lub-dub.

You want to fullfil others dreams, eh?

Aah, yes.

Then who’ll fullfil your dreams?

My friends, you, my teacher, and all of you, yes you all will fullfil my dream.

Us? But how?

By inculcating kindness in your heart.

Okay, then.

Then that kindness will drive you to help others, help the needy, help them to live their dream. Gradually it replaces the selfishness. And thus you start spreading happiness.

I understand all this, but how is it going to help you to achieve your dreams?

I will knock the doors of kindness hidden in every heart and wake it up. Everyone goes behind achieving their dreams but no one thinks about fulfilling someone elses dream. But i shall think. This will make me unique. And someday you’ll see me coming out in flying colours! Colours of my own.

Every word uttered by the young girl worked like an eye opener.

So, will you help the little girl live her dream? If yes, do mention the steps that you are going to take in this regard, in the comments section🙂

7 thoughts on “Dream

  1. Chiranth July 17, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    Never get angry in the most precarious of situations.
    Forgive others. In doing so, they will start loving you.
    Even if you can’t motivate others, never try to demotivate them.
    Remember, trust is the most important thing in this world. Without trust, there is nothing. So, while it is important to earn other’s trust, it is even more important not to break it for trust is like a glass which once broken cannot be retained.
    Don’t always express your feelings. Show your gratitude with the good work that you do. Remember, it is always about ACTIONS and not about words.
    Last but not the least, always respect elders, particularly parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ravichandra SD July 18, 2017 / 11:16 am

    I usually help the needy, never say no for helping. Keep spreading smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ravichandra SD July 18, 2017 / 11:18 am

    Always help the needy and feel the pleasure out of it with kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poornima V July 18, 2017 / 6:13 am

      That’s great Ravi, when everyone starts thinking like this and work in this regard..world would be the best place.

      Like

  4. Beyond Earth July 18, 2017 / 11:47 am

    I will love her …… as her dreams become a reality and until eternity !! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

